Captive Paradise: A History of Hawaii

Version: Unabridged
Author: James L. Haley
Narrator: Joe Barrett
Genres: History, North America
Publisher: Blackstone Audiobooks
Published In: December 2014
# of Units: 11 CDs
Length: 13 hours, 33 minutes
Ratings:
Tell Your Friends:

Overview

In the tradition of Nathaniel Philbrick and David McCullough comes the first full-scale narrative history of Hawaii, an epic tale of empire, industry, war, and culture.

The most recent state to join the union, Hawaii is the only one to have once been a royal kingdom. After its discovery by Captain Cook in the late eighteenth century, Hawaii was fought over by European powers determined to take advantage of its position as the crossroads of the Pacific. The arrival of the first missionaries marked the beginning of the struggle between a native culture with its ancient gods, sexual libertinism, and rites of human sacrifice and the rigid values of the Calvinists. While Hawaii s royal rulers adopted Christianity, they also fought to preserve their ancient ways. But the success of the ruthless American sugar barons sealed their fate, and in 1893 the American Marines overthrew Liliuokalani, the last queen of Hawaii.

"Captive Paradise" is the story of King Kamehameha I, the Conqueror, who unified the islands through terror and bloodshed but whose dynasty succumbed to inbreeding; of Gilded Age tycoons like Claus Spreckels, who brilliantly outmaneuvered his competitors; of firebrand Lorrin Thurston, who was determined that Hawaii be ruled by whites; of President McKinley, who presided over the eventual annexation of the islands. Not since James Michener s classic novel "Hawaii" has there been such a vibrant and compelling portrait of an extraordinary place and its people."

Reviews (1)

Written by Brandon Waluk on September 16th, 2016

  • Book Rating: 5/5

Very informative and much credit is due for the correct pronunciation of the Hawaiian words/names places etc.

Author Details

Author Details

Haley, James L.

James L. Haley grew up in Fort Worth, Texas, and graduated from the University of Texas at Arlington with a degree in political science. His works of history include "Sam Houston: A Life" (2002), which won nine historical and literary awards, "The Buffalo War" (1976), and "Apaches" (1981). He is also the author of four novels.