Where the Crawdads Sing

Version: Unabridged
Author: Delia Owens
Narrator: Cassandra Campbell
Genres: Fiction & Literature
Publisher: Penguin Audiobooks
Published In: April 2019
# of Units: 10 CDs
Length: 10 hours
Ratings:
Tell Your Friends:

Overview

#1 New York Times Bestseller
More than 4 million copies sold
A Reese Witherspoon x Hello Sunshine Book Club Pick

'I can't even express how much I love this book! I didn't want this story to end!'--Reese Witherspoon

'Painfully beautiful.'--The New York Times Book Review

'Perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver.'--Bustle

For years, rumors of the 'Marsh Girl' have haunted Barkley Cove, a quiet town on the North Carolina coast. So in late 1969, when handsome Chase Andrews is found dead, the locals immediately suspect Kya Clark, the so-called Marsh Girl. But Kya is not what they say. Sensitive and intelligent, she has survived for years alone in the marsh that she calls home, finding friends in the gulls and lessons in the sand. Then the time comes when she yearns to be touched and loved. When two young men from town become intrigued by her wild beauty, Kya opens herself to a new life--until the unthinkable happens.

Perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver and Karen Russell, Where the Crawdads Sing is at once an exquisite ode to the natural world, a heartbreaking coming-of-age story, and a surprising tale of possible murder. Owens reminds us that we are forever shaped by the children we once were, and that we are all subject to the beautiful and violent secrets that nature keeps.

Reviews (168)

Written by Phuong Tran on November 16th, 2019

  • Book Rating: 4/5

Beautifully written, but the story is really slow. I don't like the narrator voice, took me a while to get used too.

0

Written by Karen H. on November 3rd, 2019

  • Book Rating: 5/5

This book had me hooked from the first chapter! I couldn’t stop listening. Narration was perfect.

0

Written by Tammy S. on November 2nd, 2019

  • Book Rating: 5/5

A poignant powerful book. I listen while I commute I have teared up for this girl, laughed and clapped for her, and cried for her. Her observant solitude is both breathtaking and heartbreaking. Such a tender soul who lived such a hard life. She is the delicate lacy spiderweb of humankind - strong enough to withstand harshness and essential survival, yet beautifully graceful in her existence. And she rises so far above those who disparage her. It’s also a social statement of a community’s penchant for ostracizing and ignoring the less fortunate among us.

0

Written by Shelley C. on October 30th, 2019

  • Book Rating: 4/5

This is a fantastic, gripping story. I found narrator’s voice as a child and young adult quite annoying. Not enough to stop listening though !

Written by Vickilynne D. on October 23rd, 2019

  • Book Rating: 5/5

I couldn't put the book down. It's been a long time since I've been captivated by a story and felt comfortable with the writing style. I learned so much and shed a tear of the end. a great read.

Written by Beverly H. on October 7th, 2019

  • Book Rating: 5/5

Great story!

0

Written by Carrie B. on September 30th, 2019

  • Book Rating: 5/5

I tend to only read non-fiction however, I loved this book!!! The hype is justified!!!! I would highly recommend this book!!!

0

Written by Donna S. on September 30th, 2019

  • Book Rating: 5/5

This book was mesmerizing, heart wrenching, and full of surprises! It's not like anything I've ready before...beautifully written and narrated. I could close my eyes and imagine myself there in the marsh with them. I wanted to see all of Kya's books she wrote and published!

0

Written by Wendy L. on September 30th, 2019

  • Book Rating: 5/5

Excellent, excellent, excellent. The book, the narrating, everything was excellent

0

Written by James E. on September 24th, 2019

  • Book Rating: 5/5

Very well written book that has a little something for everybody as well as a fantastic ending. I thought it was going to be a little on the chick flicky side, but I cant really say that. This might be the best book I've listened to this year. Also, the narrator absolutely nails it. Highly recommend.