Confessions Of A Street Addict

Version: Abridged
Author: James J. Cramer
Narrator: James J. Cramer
Genres: Business & Economics, Finance
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
Published In: May 2002
# of Units: 5 CDs
Length: 5 hours
Ratings:
Tell Your Friends:

Overview

It's hard to think of anyone more intense or opinionated, or who wears as many hats as James Cramer. In Confessions of a Street Addict, the man who first made a name for himself on Wall Street successfully managing his hedge fund--and then became famous on Main Street with his manic appearances on CNBC--tells the improbable story of his career as journalist, Wall Street pundit, Internet entrepreneur, and television commentator. For the most part, Cramer manages to avoid the self-congratulatory hype that mars so many books of this ilk; in fact, what makes Confessions so compelling are the shots that Cramer takes at himself, be it his now infamous capitulation during the stock market panic of October 1998, when he wrote a piece for TheStreet.com advising readers of an impending crash just as the market began to rebound, or the callous way he treated so many around him in pursuit of the next trade. Here's an informative, honest, and rollicking read for fans of CNBC, TheStreet.com, or anyone who has ever lost sleep thinking about their portfolios.

Reviews (16)

Engaging read

Written by Anonymous from Bakersfield, CA on December 16th, 2008

  • Book Rating: 4/5

Fun book to listen too. Humerous. I am a fan of Jim Cramer's show and thought this book to be insightful into his life experiences.

BooYah!!

Written by Aaron C. on June 21st, 2008

  • Book Rating: 4/5

For people who want insight as to where Cramer is coming from (whether it be TV or hedging) this book gives good insight. Warning for people who are trying to learn about investing though, this book is a biography. Very infromative about his life, and how The Street.com was born. Great book if you enjoy learning about failures and successes of the successful!

For Cramer Fans Only

Written by Dena Jensen on January 6th, 2008

  • Book Rating: 2/5

I didn't enjoy this book, but I am not interested in stocks nor do I follow any of Jim Cramer's other ventures. Those who have an interest in those topics may find this book more to their liking. I just wanted to see what the buzz was about. I would recommend this only to people with a strong interest in the topic.

Cramer tells a great story

Written by Anonymous on August 28th, 2007

  • Book Rating: 5/5

This was a great "listen". Lots of insight into behind the scenes Wall Street and how the market really works. Very enjoyable

Listen to it.

Written by Anonymous on May 6th, 2007

  • Book Rating: 5/5

Love him or hate him, it doesn't matter. He is a character, and he is/was very good at what he did for a living. This was the best book yet for me and it doesn't surprise me. James Cramer was a legend in this business and apparently he is not doing badly now. You get a taste for the times he is describing.

Excellent Book

Written by Anonymous from Yuma, AZ on October 12th, 2006

  • Book Rating: 5/5

It was nice that this book was read by the author. I don't think anyone else could have done Jim Cramer justice. Interesting autobiography, even for non-business types. Booyah!

Intense

Written by kjoeson on July 19th, 2006

  • Book Rating: 3/5

OMG, this guy is passionate about the stock market. I didn't learn so much about the stock market as I did about human nature. Amazing that people make millions of dollars out of... well, numbers on paper. What a game. Makes me wonder how it can continue. Anyway, it's an ok story, just super intense narration etc.

Confessions

Written by Hector Villafuerte on July 8th, 2006

  • Book Rating: 4/5

This Cramer autobiography is very interesting. You'll surprise that the really stock market wizard is Cramer's wife. Cramer is just a good communicator and good seller. The conclusion will surprise you as well. Since the guy was so badly beaten by the stock market, I cannot understand why he is in TV recommending stock like a stock market genius.

MAD MONEY

Written by Emily Bolton on June 16th, 2006

  • Book Rating: 5/5

I love Cramer anyways, but I really did enjoy his book, I liked that it was him reading it to me, he has a very interesting career. I think it is a good read

Great Book

Written by Normal Guy from Abingdon, MD on April 29th, 2006

  • Book Rating: 5/5

This was great listen kept your interest and made you think you were along for the ride, no secrets or tips just a good listen

Author Details

Author Details

Cramer, James J.

"James J. Cramer" is co-founder of "TheStreet.com." After earning undergraduate and law degrees at Harvard University and working as a newspaper reporter, he joined Goldman, Sachs & Co., where he worked in the Private Client Services unit. In 1987 he founded Cramer, Berkowitz, a private hedge fund that he ran until 2000. Jim Cramer is the markets commentator for CNBC's "Squawk Box" and co-host of CNBC's "America Now," and host of the national daily radio program "RealMoney." He is "Bottom Line" columnist for "New York" magazine and continues to write for "TheStreet.com." Mr. Cramer and his fam