Hausfrau

Version: Unabridged
Author: Jill Alexander Essbaum
Narrator: Mozhan Marno
Genres: Fiction & Literature, Literature
Publisher: Random House Audio Publishing Group
Published In: March 2015
# of Units: 8 CDs
Length: 9 hours, 30 minutes
Ratings:
Tell Your Friends:

Overview

ONE OF "THE HUFFINGTON POST"'S MOST ANTICIPATED BOOKS OF 2015
For readers of Claire Messud and Mary Gaitskill comes a striking debut novel of marriage, fidelity, sex, and morality, featuring a fascinating heroine who struggles to live a life with meaning.
Hausfrau
haus-frau haus-frau n 1: Origin: German.
Housewife, homemaker. 2: A married woman. 3: A novel by jill alexander essbaum
" "
"Anna was a good wife, mostly."
Anna Benz, an American in her late thirties, lives with her Swiss husband, Bruno--a banker--and their three young children in a postcard-perfect suburb of Zurich. Though she leads a comfortable, well-appointed life, Anna is falling apart inside. Adrift and increasingly unable to connect with the emotionally unavailable Bruno or even with her own thoughts and feelings, Anna tries to rouse herself with new experiences: German language classes, Jungian analysis, and a series of sexual affairs she enters with an ease that surprises even her.
But Anna can't easily extract herself from these affairs. When she wants to end them, she finds it's difficult. Tensions escalate, and her lies start to spin out of control. Having crossed a moral threshold, Anna will discover where a woman goes when there is no going back.
Intimate, intense, and written with the precision of a Swiss Army knife, Jill Alexander Essbaum's debut novel is an unforgettable story of marriage, fidelity, sex, morality, and most especially self. Navigating the lines between lust and love, guilt and shame, excuses and reasons, Anna Benz is an electrifying heroine whose passions and choices readers will debate with recognition and fury. Her story reveals, with honesty and great beauty, how we create ourselves and how we lose ourselves and the sometimes disastrous choices we make to find ourselves.
Advance praise for "Hausfrau"
"A stunningly written, hauntingly paced book. Anna Benz has the weight of a classic heroine--isolated yet crowded--but she is utterly modern in Jill Alexander Essbaum's hands. Reading"Hausfrau" is like staring at a painting that simultaneously seduces and disturbs. Even when you want to turn away, you find your feet are planted to the floor."--Sloane Crosley, author of "I Was Told There'd Be Cake

Reviews (1)

disappointing

Written by Barbara on August 11th, 2015

  • Book Rating: 2/5

Main character was really very unlikeable and seemed to learn nothing from her experiences; the male characters are wooden.