Where the Crawdads Sing

Version: Unabridged
Author: Delia Owens
Narrator: Cassandra Campbell
Genres: Fiction & Literature
Publisher: Penguin Audiobooks
Published In: April 2019
# of Units: 10 CDs
Length: 10 hours
Ratings:
Tell Your Friends:

Overview

#1 New York Times Bestseller
A Reese Witherspoon x Hello Sunshine Book Club Pick

'I can't even express how much I love this book! I didn't want this story to end!'--Reese Witherspoon

'Painfully beautiful.'--The New York Times Book Review

'Perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver.'--Bustle

For years, rumors of the 'Marsh Girl' have haunted Barkley Cove, a quiet town on the North Carolina coast. So in late 1969, when handsome Chase Andrews is found dead, the locals immediately suspect Kya Clark, the so-called Marsh Girl. But Kya is not what they say. Sensitive and intelligent, she has survived for years alone in the marsh that she calls home, finding friends in the gulls and lessons in the sand. Then the time comes when she yearns to be touched and loved. When two young men from town become intrigued by her wild beauty, Kya opens herself to a new life--until the unthinkable happens.

Perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver and Karen Russell, Where the Crawdads Sing is at once an exquisite ode to the natural world, a heartbreaking coming-of-age story, and a surprising tale of possible murder. Owens reminds us that we are forever shaped by the children we once were, and that we are all subject to the beautiful and violent secrets that nature keeps.

Reviews (163)

Written by Beverly H. on October 7th, 2019

  • Book Rating: 5/5

Great story!

0

Written by Carrie B. on September 30th, 2019

  • Book Rating: 5/5

I tend to only read non-fiction however, I loved this book!!! The hype is justified!!!! I would highly recommend this book!!!

0

Written by Donna S. on September 30th, 2019

  • Book Rating: 5/5

This book was mesmerizing, heart wrenching, and full of surprises! It's not like anything I've ready before...beautifully written and narrated. I could close my eyes and imagine myself there in the marsh with them. I wanted to see all of Kya's books she wrote and published!

0

Written by Wendy L. on September 30th, 2019

  • Book Rating: 5/5

Excellent, excellent, excellent. The book, the narrating, everything was excellent

0

Written by James E. on September 24th, 2019

  • Book Rating: 5/5

Very well written book that has a little something for everybody as well as a fantastic ending. I thought it was going to be a little on the chick flicky side, but I cant really say that. This might be the best book I've listened to this year. Also, the narrator absolutely nails it. Highly recommend.

Written by Debbie B. on September 23rd, 2019

  • Book Rating: 5/5

loved this book! well written. Kept my attention and got me at the end...

Written by Mariah N. on September 23rd, 2019

  • Book Rating: 5/5

This book brought me to tears within the first 10 minutes. I loved the dialect and the detailed scenery. I felt so connected to the characters I never wanted to stop listening. An absolutely beautiful story.

0

Written by Pamela K. on September 23rd, 2019

  • Book Rating: 5/5

The author paints such beautiful pictures with her words. This book was exquisite. It is not the kind of book I would normally read...I’m a Patricia Cornwell or David Baldaci kind of reader. But I read this on the advice of a friend and couldn’t put it down. And the narrator was wonderful. Highly recommend! ❤️

0

Written by Debra B. on September 20th, 2019

  • Book Rating: 5/5

A REALLY GOOD listen.

Written by Ketsarin H. on September 18th, 2019

  • Book Rating: 5/5

well and beautiful written.