Where the Crawdads Sing

Version: Unabridged
Author: Delia Owens
Narrator: Cassandra Campbell
Genres: Fiction & Literature
Publisher: Penguin Audiobooks
Published In: April 2019
# of Units: 10 CDs
Length: 10 hours
Ratings:
Tell Your Friends:

Overview

#1 New York Times Bestseller
A Reese Witherspoon x Hello Sunshine Book Club Pick

'I can't even express how much I love this book! I didn't want this story to end!'--Reese Witherspoon

'Painfully beautiful.'--The New York Times Book Review

'Perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver.'--Bustle

For years, rumors of the 'Marsh Girl' have haunted Barkley Cove, a quiet town on the North Carolina coast. So in late 1969, when handsome Chase Andrews is found dead, the locals immediately suspect Kya Clark, the so-called Marsh Girl. But Kya is not what they say. Sensitive and intelligent, she has survived for years alone in the marsh that she calls home, finding friends in the gulls and lessons in the sand. Then the time comes when she yearns to be touched and loved. When two young men from town become intrigued by her wild beauty, Kya opens herself to a new life--until the unthinkable happens.

Perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver and Karen Russell, Where the Crawdads Sing is at once an exquisite ode to the natural world, a heartbreaking coming-of-age story, and a surprising tale of possible murder. Owens reminds us that we are forever shaped by the children we once were, and that we are all subject to the beautiful and violent secrets that nature keeps.

Reviews (140)

0

Written by Anonymous on August 15th, 2019

  • Book Rating: 2/5

Not mich of a fan. Morals are not good.

Written by Stephanie S. on August 10th, 2019

  • Book Rating: 4/5

Loved this book! Relatable, tragic and romantic. Towards the end there is a section I felt dragged on more than needed (the trial). The narrator was generally okay, just her voice is sometimes robotic seeming. Overall a great listen and I will be checking out the authors other books for sure.

Written by Deborah K. on August 9th, 2019

  • Book Rating: 5/5

Loved everything about this book! The characters. A new landscape and place I have not been was described in a way that made me feel like I was there. The narrator was excellent.

***SPOILER ALERT***

Written by Stacie J. on August 6th, 2019

  • Book Rating: 5/5

Absolutely loved this book! The rhythm of the book paralleled the ebb and flow of the ocean as well as the circle of life. Mother Nature played a main character and was mirrored in all of the other characters of the book. Very well done with a surprising twist at the end....just as life and the universe would have it! :)

0

Written by Kerri H. on August 5th, 2019

  • Book Rating: 4/5

I really enjoyed this listen! The reader did a very good job.

0

Written by Judy S. on August 5th, 2019

  • Book Rating: 5/5

I really enjoyed the book. The story pulled the reader in and kept them captivated through the main character's life. I liked the narrator, although I imagine I would have read it definitely to myself, some of the characters voices made them sound dumb when the characters weren't.

0

Written by Anon B. on August 3rd, 2019

  • Book Rating: 5/5

During a long road trip this book certainly kept our attention in so many ways. My wife and I enjoyed the delicate, powerful, suspenseful and creative writing and narration the entire time. Note...a bit naughty in a few spots, had to turn down the volume for the kiddos traveling with us LOL. Overall such a meaningful story and a must listen to!

Written by Julie B. on July 27th, 2019

  • Book Rating: 5/5

Fantastic! Will not disappoint!

Written by Sharon H. on July 26th, 2019

  • Book Rating: 5/5

Excellent book I loved it!!

0

Written by Darrick J. on July 25th, 2019

  • Book Rating: 5/5

My wife listened to this and enjoyed it.